Martha, Mary, and Jesus… or, Does God Love You?

This question popped into my head today as I thought of the multitude of ministries and eager to encourage christians out there.

Control that knee jerk reaction for a minute and humor me for a minute.

Does Jesus Love You?

How does He love you?

Does He love you like you love the unknown faces you see in the newspaper?  Or does He love you like you love your kids?  Now, don’t give me the answer you THINK I want to hear.  Don’t give me the answer you THINK is the right one.

Um, yes….I’m talking to YOU.

Song of Solomon 2:4 “He brought me to the banqueting house, and His banner over me was love.” KJV

When you go to the grocery store and you see those apples with a sign over them that says “$1.29 lb,”  that means that those apples are worth $1.29 per pound.  That verse in Song of Solomon is saying that the God of the universe says that I am sized up by Him and he put a value to me.   He put value to YOU.  That value?  Love.  What does love mean anyway?  The ancient hebrew idea here is that when you love something it’s like  you see it, throw your hands up in the air and gasp in amazement at the wonderful gift it is.  Parents sometimes love that way.  Sometimes they don’t.  For those that didn’t let me just say, I am profoundly sorry.  For all the parents out there let me give you the only bit of advice that matters:  Trust/Obey God, and teach your children what it feels like to be valued….oh and, it’s NEVER too late!

I know that some of you out there are thinking “yeah, yeah, Jesus loves me…I get it!  He died for me!  Yes, I know!”  You are the ones who feel secret jealousy towards those who enjoy His favor.  You are the ones striving to “do” the right things, trying to “be” good hoping to experience that favor without admitting you don’t.  You are running around trying to tell the world that Jesus loves them but nobody believes you because you don’t believe it for yourself.   To the world you can come off quite self righteous and judgmental.  I, too have spent much of my christian walk in this way.  This is the Martha way.

There are also those who are reading this with beaming smile and sparkling eyes.  You are thinking, “YES!  Jesus LOVES me!  Oh, YES!  I know He loves me!  Isn’t it wonderful!?”  Some of you are even dancing about in your heart as you think those words in sing song fashion.  You aren’t running around trying to tell the world that Jesus loves them, you are just enjoying that love.  For you, any sort of offended or insecure behavior is always interpreted by the Marthas of this world as rejection from the Lord… You are, after all His favorite.  This is the Mary way.

I can’t say if everyone has a turn at being both Martha and Mary in life, I can only speak for myself.  As Martha, I had to learn to lay everything down and trust that I wouldn’t be turned away from the seat at the feet of Jesus.  This is my occupation right now.  Just sit and trust.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martha, Mary, and Jesus… or, Does God Love You?

  1. Candis says:

    Ahh sweet sister, I am so sitting at the feet next to you with tears washing down my face. Thank you so much. Love you.

Leave a Reply

