The Reminding Business

For the first time in a long time The Lord has asked me to do very hard and inconvenient things.  When I knew what I was to do, my insides melted.  I remembered the days when I would have laughed at these hard things and done something even harder or more “pious.”   I would’ve stood tall and been ruthless with everything for the sake of doing the hard thing.  And I did.  I did very hard things.  That was before I gave up self righteousness.  In my self righteousness I could do all the right things no matter how hard but the one that mattered – trust God.

Then I had this moment where I began to think, “if I could just have a little of that discipline I had before I could do these hard things more successfully.”  Then as I was reading through one of the gospels I began noticing the pharisees’ and their independence.  They were so unwilling to see their need for The Savior.  They were filled with such unbelief.  Not just unbelief of Jesus, but also unbelief of their spiritual bankruptcy.

And then I remembered.

I remembered a blog post I wrote a couple years ago.  Click this link. to read it.

Yes, it could be true.  If I had a tenth of the self righteousness I once had I would look like a more spiritual person.  But honestly, I’d rather stumble and fall, slip and slide and look like an idiot while trusting Jesus.  I’m thankful that He is in the reminding business.  And as for doing hard things, He is going to do it.  All I’ve got to do is keep showing up! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Reminding Business

  1. Dawney says:

    Yay for hard without self righteous! Yay for beautiful messes!

  2. Beautifully said. Love you Tammy Jo

  3. revcandyoswalt says:

    Beautifully said. Love you Tammy Jo.

Leave a Reply

