Confidence in Asking

My daughter asked for an ocarina for Christmas this year. She made me a list of other gift ideas but the one thing she really wanted was a ceramic ocarina. If you are wondering what an ocarina is, it’s sort of a triangular flute thingy. Thingy is a very technical term as far as ocarinas go…

When the ocarina came in the mail, I wrapped it without opening the package.  I wanted her to have all the joy of opening it, shipping peanuts and all.  After putting it and one other smaller gift under the tree she began to playfully ask questions to try and get me to divulge the contents of the wrapped gifts.  Then she asked if she could shake them.  When I told her she could, her face fell a bit thinking that there was no way either package had an ocarina in it.  She surmised that I wouldn’t have let her shake it if it was an ocarina because it might break. However, I figured that if it had survived shipping it could survive a little inquisitive shaking as well.  She weathered the disappointment quite well as she waited a couple of weeks to open her presents.

During those two weeks I wondered what kind of parent she really thought I was. I mean, why would I ask her what she wanted and then not get it for her? Sure, if she had asked for a new car or something else very expensive I could never have got it for her but she asked for something that was within our budget. The only other reason I would have not gotten her something she asked for was if I knew it that would hurt her, like… say…. a fire breathing dragon.

It was during this time of reflection that I began to think of something Jesus said:

“Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone?  Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent?  If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?”  Matthew 7:9-11

This passage always used to trouble me.  To me, it was not a good argument to prove God’s lovingkindness towards me, personally.  My mind always thought “yes! Had I asked my dad for bread or a fish I would have gotten a stone and a snake thrown at me!”….how hard hearted and cynical I once was!  Oh the matchless grace of Jesus!  He truly has buried that old wounded heart and skewed perspective!

Now as I turned my mind to this scripture, I thought of it in light of my heart towards my children (yes this was how Jesus meant it but I couldn’t see past my pain.)

I am my Father’s daughter.  I am quite like Him having been reborn of His Holy Spirit.  I only need ask and my Father will grant my requests.  If I ask for something I am not ready to bear, He will heed my requests after first equipping me for the thing I have asked for.  I don’t mean to imply that now I will be asking to win the lottery.  He has given me a new heart that desires to please Him.  By His grace I have trusted Him, and He has made me new.  I am no longer afraid to ask for the desires of my heart.  I am confident that He was the one Who placed them there.  SDG tj

Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”

Gallery | This entry was posted in Trust, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Confidence in Asking

  1. Jacki says:

    As always, this is awesome, TammyJo! I have been wondering when you were going to post a new blog! Not only is this one awesome, it is also timely…

  2. Sandi says:

    Yes……… she’s baaaack. One question….. how did the Amy love the gift? Surprise?

  3. I tried to like this and it was extremely difficult. I find it even better that she got 2 of them.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

